Irish Cole Slaw

This is a dish my cousin Diane shared with me when I was on a mad search for a summery vegetable side for my Lughnasa feast.

Diane lived in County Mayo a few years back and worked with the locals protesting a pipeline being constructed by Shell Oil.  The name of the group was Shell to Sea .  She said this “slaw” of sorts is something they used to make at the Solidarity Camp out of the available fresh vegetables.  The leftovers they would frequently make into a sandwich with “crisps” or what we would call potato chips, for a little added crunch.

While I have not tried the slaw in this form I did do a side by side comparison using two different types of vinegar.  Since Diane didn’t specify what kind they used at the camp, I assume it was whatever they had on hand, I decided to do a little taste test of my own trying one with apple cider and another with white wine.  I had my dinner guests be the judges and the overwhelming choice was in favor of the white wine vinegar version.  Feel free to try both slaws for yourself and decide.

1 red beet, peeled and grated

1 small head of green cabbage, grated

4 or 5 carrots, peeled and grated

1 turnip, peeled and grated

Olive Oil

White Wine Vinegar

Salt and Pepper

Combine the grated vegetable in a bowl.  Add enough olive oil and white wine vinegar to get to a good slaw consistency, enough to hold it together and soften the cabbage and stir.  Season with salt and pepper to taste. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Cook’s Note:  The vegetable can be grated using the grater attachment on a food processor to cut prep time down considerably.

2 thoughts on “Irish Cole Slaw

  1. Pingback: Lughnasa | Historic Hostess

  2. Pingback: Historic Hostess: Lughnasa

Leave a Reply

